Who is eligible to participate?

  • In categories 1 and 2: bauma 2016 exhibitors
  • In category 3: Members of the HDB (Hauptverband der Deutschen Bauindustrie e.V. - German Construction Industry Association), ZDB (Zentralverband des deutschen Baugewerbes e.V.  Central Association of the German Construction Industry) and BBS (Bundesverband Baustoffe - Steine und Erden e.V. - German Building Materials Association).
  • In category 4: Universities and research institutes as well as researching companies eligible to participate under categories 1-3.
  • In category 5: All entities eligible to participate under categories 1-4 may apply. Applications under category 5 can be submitted in addition to or separately from other applications.

Innovations under categories 1, 2 and 5 must be displayed at bauma 2016.

More information on participation in the bauma Innovation Award 2016 is available in the conditions of participation.


What does innovation mean to us?

The term innovation is derived from the Latin word innovatio = renewal. In connection with the bauma Innovation Award, we consider first of all new technologies and products for the construction equipment, building material and mining machinery industry, the construction industry or the building material industry. In addition to newness, which should go beyond simple further development, market-readiness and the expectation of successful practical application are decisive factors. In the research category, there should also be room for new approaches, whereby innovative research results are not necessarily tied to a market-ready solution.

Example: We do not consider the facelift of a serial machine with improved functionality as innovation.


How to apply?

You may submit your innovations for the bauma Innovation Award 2016 as of 7 April 2015.
The deadline for submissions is 31 August 2015.

The deadline is firm. Submissions received after the deadline will not be considered.